Skip to main content
The Official Web Site of the State of South Carolina

Lexington County administrative offices are open Monday – Friday, 8 a.m. – 5 p.m.

Public Works

Public Works Online Service Request

General Information

The Department of Public Works consists of two divisions: Engineering and Transportation.

Mission: To provide quality transportation systems in a safe environment.

Vision: Quality infrastructure through effective maintenance and planned projects.

The Engineering Division is responsible for:

  • Design and inspection of County roadway projects
  • Management of County owned construction projects
  • Inspection of residential and commercial construction projects
  • Acquisition of required right of way for County projects
  • Encroachment permits
  • Assist the Transportation Division with construction staking
  • Implementation of the C Fund program

The Transportation Division is responsible for:

  • Maintenance of 1,300 miles of County roads and associated drainage
  • Maintenance of 300± Stormwater Management facilities
  • Fabrication and installation of street name and traffic control signage
  • Constrution of Capital Improvement projects

Quick Links to Forms

Related Links