Skip to main content
The Official Web Site of the State of South Carolina

Vehicle Taxes

Information Regarding Your Vehicle Taxes

All vehicles owned by South Carolina residents are subject to property taxes. Vehicle taxes must be paid prior to registering the vehicle with the S.C. Department of Motor Vehicles. Vehicle taxes are paid in advance covering a period of one year. Always review tax notices and make address corrections before paying.

 

New Resident of Lexington County or Newly Purchased Vehicle Needing a License Plate

  • Obtain a vehicle tax notice from the Lexington County Auditor's Office.
  • Pay the tax notice at the Lexington County Treasurer's Office with cash, check (payable to County of Lexington), or debit/credit card. Convenience fees apply to all tax payments made with a credit or debit card.
  • Take the receipt to S.C. Department of Motor Vehicles to obtain a license plate and registration.

 

Newly Purchased Vehicle Where dealership Obtained License Plate (120 Day Dealer Affidavit tax Notice)

  • A Dealer Affidavit tax notice will be mailed to the address provided by the dealership. This notice is due within 120 days from the date of purchase.
  • Payments made before the due date can be made in person at the Lexington County Treasurer’s Office with cash, check or debit/credit card, by mail with check (payable to County of Lexington), or Online with electronic check or debit/credit card.  Convenience fees apply to all tax payments made with an electronic check or debit/credit card.
  • Payments made after the due date can be made in person at the Lexington County Treasurer’s Office with cash or certified funds only. 
  • If payment still has not been received after 30 days past the due date of the tax bill, a notice can be sent to the SC Department of Motor Vehicles to suspend your driver’s license and/or registration.  If payment is made after the suspension is already in place you will also need to pay reinstatement fees to the SC Department of Motor Vehicles before the suspension can be released. Reinstatement fees can be paid at any SC Department of Motor Vehicle location or on the SCDMV website. 

 

Renewal of Existing Vehicle with License Plate 

  • Renewal tax notices are mailed to residents according to address and vehicle information on file with the S.C. Department of Motor Vehicles approximately one month before the expiration of the license plate. 
  • Review tax notice thoroughly before paying. Address corrections can be made on the back of the tax notice.
  • Consult with the Lexington County Auditor regarding possible high mileage discounts before paying the tax notice. 
  • Options for paying the tax notice:
  1. In person, at the Lexington County Treasurer's Office, with cash, check (payable to County of Lexington), or debit/credit card.  Convenience fees apply to all tax payments made with a credit or debit card.
  2. Online with a debit/credit card or electronic check. Convenience fees apply to all tax payments made with a debit/credit card or electronic check.
  3. Through the mail with check only. Make check payable to County of Lexington, include tax bill and write the bill number on the check. The United States postmark is the determining date for mailed payments as to whether or not penalty applies.
  4. At the Lexington County Treasurer's Office night deposit box for convenient after business-hours payment. Checks only, made payable to the County of Lexington, include tax bill and write the bill number on the check. The night deposit box is located in front of the County Administration Building.
  • The SC Department of Motor Vehicles will mail the decal, registration, and tax receipt to the address they have on file.

 

Late Payment of Vehicle Tax Notice

Contact the Lexington County Treasurer's Office at (803) 785-8217.

 

Helpful Information and User Links

If vehicle has been sold, contact the Lexington County Auditor at (803) 785-8181.

Always include the tax notice with payment.

If you are not paying your taxes in person, the S.C. Department of Motor Vehicles will issue the registration, decal, and tax receipt by mail to the address they have on file.        S.C. Department of Motor Vehicles