Skip to main content
The Official Web Site of the State of South Carolina

Lexington County Administration Building is closed Monday, 5/27/2024 in observance of Memorial Day.

Regional Medical Assistance Team (RMAT)


Lexington County EMS is proud to serve as the host county for the Midlands Regional Medical Assistance Team, or RMAT.

Midlands RMAT (SC-RMAT-03) is one of four RMAT teams in the state, hosted by local counties. The teams are funded by Department of Homeland Security grants, which are managed by the South Carolina Law Enforcement Division (SLED).

South Carolina Regional Medical Assistance Teams:

  • Piedmont RMAT - Hosted by Spartanburg County
  • Midlands RMAT - Hosted by Lexington County
  • Pee Dee RMAT - Hosted by Horry County
  • Low Country RMAT - Hosted by Beaufort County


RMATRMAT was formed in 2006 to fill a recognized gap in the State's capabilities for medical response during large scale disasters of all types, both man-made and natural. Prior to the estalishment of RMAT, the burden of caring for victims of such a disaster fell to local responders. Without a plan for additional assistance to manage victims, the resources of even the largest counties would be quickly overwhelmed. RMAT responds to provide this vital assistance to local responders.


The Midlands RMAT  region consists of 15 counties: Abbeville, Aiken, Chester, Edgefield, Fairfield, Greenwood, Kershaw, Lancaster, Laurens, Lexington, McCormick, Newberry, Richland, Saluda and York. Team membership consists primarily of Lexington County EMS paramedics and EMTs but also includes nurses, physicians and dispatch personnel.  


To request a copy of  "An Introduction to RMAT" or to learn more about joining RMAT , contact Major Richie Stevens