AIRPORT COMMITTEE MINUTES SEPTEMBER 22, 2009

The Airport Committee met on Tuesday, September 22, 2009 in the Committee Room, located on the second floor of the Administration Building beginning at 2:40 p.m. Mr. Carrigg, Committee Chairman, presided.

Members Attending:

John W. Carrigg, Jr., Chairman
George H. Smokey Davis

James E. Kinard, Jr., V Chairman
Johnny W. Jeffcoat

Debra B. Debbie Summers

Also attending: Katherine Hubbard, County Administrator; Joe Mergo, Deputy County Administrator; Larry Porth, Finance Director/Assistant County Administrator; other staff members, citizens of the county and representatives of the media.

In accordance with the Freedom of Information Act, a copy of the agenda was sent to radio and TV stations, newspapers, and posted on the bulletin board located in the lobby of the County Administration Building.

Beacon Replacement at the Lexington County Airport at Pelion Grant Application (Goal 3) - Public Works - Jim Starling, Engineering Associate III - Mr. Starling presented a request to apply for a grant through the South Carolina Division of Aeronautics for repairs needed at the Lexington County Airport at Pelion. The amount requested is for \$15,000 with a 25 percent County match of \$3,750. However, the quote received for a refurbished beacon after the application was submittal is \$13,448, therefore, the 25 percent match would be \$3,362.

A motion was made by Mr. Davis, seconded by Mr. Kinard to recommend to full Council to approve staff's request to apply for the Beacon Replacement at the Lexington County Airport at Pelion grant.

In Favor: Mr. Davis Mr. Kinard

Mr. Carrigg Ms. Summers

Opposed: Mr. Jeffcoat

New Business - Sewage Facility by the Airport - Mr. Jeffcoat presented information about a 300-acre sewage facility located by the airport under investigation by DHEC for violations. For information only, no action taken.

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned.

Respectfully submitted,

Judy R. Busbee Assistant to the Clerk John W. Carrigg, Jr. Chairman

Diana W. Burnett

Clerk