AIRPORT COMMITTEE MINUTES APRIL 10, 2007

The Airport Committee met on Tuesday, April 10, 2007 in the Committee Room, located on the second floor of the Administration Building beginning at 2:40 p.m. Mr. Cullum, Committee Chairman presided.

Members Attending:

M. Todd Cullum, Chairman John W. Carrigg, Jr., V Chairman

James E. Kinard, Jr. Debra B. Summers

William C. Billy Derrick

Also attending: Katherine Hubbard, County Administrator; Larry Porth, Finance Director/Assistant County Administrator; other staff members, citizens of the county and representatives of the media.

In accordance with the Freedom of Information Act, a copy of the agenda was sent to radio and TV stations, newspapers, and posted on the bulletin board located in the lobby of the County Administration Building.

Report on the Lexington County Airport at Pelion Strategic Plan Meeting - Katherine Hubbard, County Administrator – Ms. Hubbard gave a brief report on the Lexington County Airport at Pelion Strategic Plan meeting. The following objectives were established if the County were to develop the airport to its potential by 2022: update the lighting system and navigation by September 2008; extend the runway by year 2013; design and distribute a survey to pilots and corporations by May 2007; secure funding for a partial apron rehabilitation by October 2008; establish a pilot's advisory committee by July 2007; and, establish a need to discuss the pros and cons between having an airport manager or facility operator. It was recommended that staff move forward with drafting a resolution to assure the FAA that the County is committed to make sure all safety aspects are met. For information only. No action taken.

Approval of Minutes - Meeting of March 20, 2007 – A motion was made by Mr. Kinard seconded by Ms. Summers to approve the March 20, 2007 minutes as submitted.

The vote was in favor. Mr. Carrigg was not present at the time the vote was taken.

Old Business/New Business - None

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned.

Respectfully submitted,

Judy R. Busbee M. Todd Cullum

Assistant to Clerk Chairman

Diana W. Burnett

Clerk